Studies from the Hudson River Fellowship

I just finished up a month of landscape painting at the Hudson River Fellowship in the Catskills. It was amazing to be able to focus on painting every day without any distractions, which is why my blog has been so neglected this summer. Here are some pictures of what I have been working on. At the fellowship, artists are encouraged to work towards creating a larger painting in the studio using their small plein air studies as reference. Many of these were created with that goal in mind. I’m excited to get in the studio and see how it goes, but there’s one more month of summer left and I hope to spend much of it painting outside before I come back to the city for my last year of school. It’s going to be a long dark winter, so I’m getting outside as much as I can right now!

Nest Rock, oil on linen, 8″x6″
Forest Path Study, oil on linen, 6″x8″
South Lake Fog, 10″x8″, oil on linen

https://picasaweb.google.com/s/c/bin/slideshow.swf

One thought on “Studies from the Hudson River Fellowship

Leave a Reply

