Sunrise in the Catskills

20110811-111218.jpg

After painting and drawing this scene at Laurelside 3 or 4 times over the past month, I made this painting (12″x9″, a bit larger than I usually work) from memory using written notes and referring to the earlier studies I have. This was the first time I’ve tried working from memory and I really enjoyed it! I learned a lot and this morning I woke up early to watch the sunrise and compare what I had done yesterday with what was actually happening. I made a few changes-making the mountains more chromatic but leaving the sky as I had painted it yesterday. A great learning experience!

Leave a Reply

