West of Washington

I’m thrilled to be planning a visit to my old stomping grounds in New Hampshire this weekend!  It’s not often that I skip class at GCA and escape from New York, so I’m anticipating the adventure with extra excitement.  The event is a gallery opening on Friday night that will showcase a rare collection of 19th century landscape paintings created in the White Mountains of New Hampshire.  The paintings are on loan from P. Andrews McLane and Linda Harper McLane and will hang in the Edwards Art Gallery at Holderness School from April 20 – May 27.  As an alum of the school and a member of the Hudson River Fellowship, I was asked to write an essay for the show catalog, which I consider a huge honor.  On Friday and Saturday, I’ll have the opportunity to talk with students about these paintings and my experience studying at the Grand Central Academy and the Hudson River Fellowship.  I’m looking forward to meeting the collectors as well as art historian Catherine Amadon, the director of the new Museum of the White Mountains, which will open it’s doors in 2013.  In July, I’ll be spending four weeks in Jackson, NH painting with the Hudson River Fellowship and I am interested in learning as much as I can about the artists who were working there more than 150 years ago.  I’m also beyond excited to reconnect with the amazing community at Holderness School, a truly special family that I feel so blessed to be a part of.  I’ll write more when I get back with photos of my trip and of the artwork!

Read the full press release for “West of Washington” here

“West of Washington” will be on exhibit at Holderness School’s Edwards Art Gallery from April 20 to May 27. There will be an opening reception on Friday, April 20, from 6:30 to 8:00 PM. The public is invited to attend.

The Holderness School is on Route 175 in Holderness. The Edwards and Heide Galleries are open from 9:00-5:00 Monday-Friday; from 9:00-1:00 on Saturday; and by appointment.

For more information call Franz Nicolay at 779-5387. Franz is also available via email at fnicolay@holderness.org.

Leave a Reply

