Summer Recap, New Paintings!

Since my last post I left New York to spend the summer landscape painting.  In late June I was at a gorgeous location in the White Mountains making studies for a commissioned project.  After that, I met up with the Hudson River Fellowship, which was conveniently happening in the same area.  In between painting sessions I managed to do a lot of trail running, a little rock climbing, and spend some quality time with old friends who live in the area.  It was the perfect summer!

Right now I am back in New York unpacking all those studies I did in June and using them to compose a large studio painting for the commission I mentioned earlier.  I’m also teaching evening classes at the GCA.  I’ll try to post some updates as this studio painting takes shape.  For now, here are some of the paintings I have done over the past few months:

Rainy Day on the Androscoggin, 8″x10″, oil on linen

Glacial Erratic, Cathedral Ledge. 8″x6″ oil on linen

Evening on the Saco River, oil on linen, 8″x6″

Crawford Notch, oil on linen, 9″x14″

Storms on Mt. Madison, oil on linen, 9″x14″

River Study, oil on linen, 87″x6″

Silver Lake Sunset #1, oil on linen, 4″x7″

Silver Lake Sunset #2, oil on panel, 10″x8″

Silver Lake Sunset #3, oil on linen, 8″x4″

Silver Lake Sunset #4, oil on linen, 5.5″x3″

Silver Lake Sunrise #1, oil on paper, 10″x5″

Silver Lake Sunrise #2, oil on linen, 8″x3.5″

Silver Lake Sunrise #3, oil on linen, 9.5″x4″

Silver Lake, Storms. oil on panel, 6″x12″

Sunset in the White Mountains, oil on panel, 10″x8″

Marsters Point, Sunrise. oil on paperboard, 11.5″x6″

Beech Leaves, graphite and guache on paper, 8″x5″

Hidden Stream, Ink on Paper, 9″x12″

 

 

6 thoughts on “Summer Recap, New Paintings!

  1. Thanks for all the nice comments everyone, it’s great to get positive feedback! Ken I’d love to see your place in the ‘dacks. I grew up not far from there in VT, it’s an amazing area!!!

Leave a Reply

