Three Shows in June

Man, time has been flying lately!  Tonight we celebrated the end of another year at the GCA.  It was a year ago that I finished my own studies there, and this is the first time in four years that I won’t spend the next three days on my knees scraping gunk off the floors as part of my work-study duties.  It’s been an incredible first year out on my own, I’ve grown and gained a lot of self-confidence and skill.  In the past few months my anxiety about survival has begun to subside and I’m having more fun with the challenges of this wild ride.  I feel surrounded by opportunity in NYC and my biggest concern is how to divide my energies efficiently so that I can make time for the most important thing: putting brush to canvas.  Tomorrow morning I’m heading north to spend a week painting in Vermont – I’ll be gathering plein air studies for a commissioned studio painting.  I crave these uninterrupted blocks of time when I can sink into the tranquility of nature.  I’ll try to get another blog post up with some thoughts on how that experience goes.  For now … here are some events I have to look forward to when I return from my little retreat:

June 1st: Rabbit Island Benefit Party and Silent Auction

Saturday, June 1st 981 Dean St, Brooklyn, NY.

227059-250

This is Rabbit Island. 

 

Rabbit Island is a 90 acre wilderness island in Lake Superior which was preserved and then developed into a remote artist residency. Each summer the island hosts collaborations between artists, architects, writers, scientists and chefs and each winter they apply lessons learned to conservation and cultural projects on the mainland.

 

Red Hook Sunset #6, 4.5"x12" oil

I’ve donated this painting to the auction: Red Hook Sunset #6, 4.5″x12″ oil

Proceeds raised during the event via silent auction will be distributed amongst this year’s artists in residence program.

Rabbit Island Benefit raising money for two initiatives: Art & Land Conservation.

+ Silent Art Auction
+ Live Music by bluegrass trio, Morgan O’Kane
+ Food by Sweet Deliverance & Stumptown Coffee
+ Performance by modern dancer Giorgia Bovo
+ Guest Speaker TBD
+ Bonfire

 

June 8th “En Plein Air” at the Drawing Room Gallery, Cos Cob, CT

I have TEN paintings in this group show.  It will be up until August 8th, so if you’re in CT check it out!  Here is a painting (that will be in this show) I did when I was in the Cos Cob area a few weeks ago for Edward Minoff’s show opening at Cavalier:

Lee_GreenwichPointParkinGray_oil_6x10_500

Greenwich Point Park in Gray, oil on linen, 6″x10″

this one will also be in the show:

Lee_RedHookSunset_oil_4.5x12_500

Red Hook Sunset #5, 4.5×12 oil on archival bookboard

 

June 15: Small Works Show at The Bennington Center for the Arts, Bennington, VT

This show is up until December 22!  The opening party on June 15th sounds fun – there will be a gypsy band playing – Caravan of Thieves.

Lee_Emilie_2013_portraits3

Ball Mason 10"x12" oil on linen. (for sale at National Arts Club) Miatta, 8×10, oil on linen …. and  Ball Mason, 10×11, oil on linen will be in this show

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

