Summer: Episode I

Summer is upon us and I’m about to leave on more painting trips, so I thought it was about time to update the blog before another two months slip away.

In early June I went up to Vermont to begin making studies for a new commissioned project.  It’s a dream job and the perfect blast-off to a great summer: painting an incredible view across Lake Champlain of the Adirondack high peaks.  I began talking with the couple who own this property about a year ago.  They’ve been restoring an old summer lodge on the lake and wanted some custom made paintings that would fit the old-fashioned vibe of the place.  In April I made my first visit to see the land and talk about possibilities for the paintings.  We decided on two larger studio paintings as well as a series of smaller pieces to hang in the house.  Here are a few of the pieces I painted on location during the week I was up there.  I also made a series of careful drawings that will be useful in the studio painting process.  These loose color studies of the view across the lake help me remember what I was feeling and observing when I was there in the moment.  As I get further along with the studio paintings, I will share progress photos and talk about process on my blog.

IMG_3584

IMG_3591

IMG_3595

 

IMG_3588

 

IMG_3598

IMG_3601

Since I returned from Vermont, I’ve been working on composing the first studio painting for the commission.  There’s also been time to get out to enjoy some of the local beaches and escape the heat too!

NYHarbor from SandyHook

New York Harbor from Sandy Hook, 6″x10″ oil on canvas

sandyhook08

sandyhook05

Next up:  I’m looking forward to painting in Aspen, CO next week, then meeting up with the Hudson River Fellowship in Jackson NH before heading out to Michigan to paint at the Rabbit Island Artist Residency.

2 thoughts on “Summer: Episode I

    • Hi Felicity, I just went to your website and learned about the exciting plein-air project you are working on this summer! I’m totally impressed, and I love that you are committed to working from life. I look forward to seeing the results of your hut-to-hut adventure.

Leave a Reply

