Summer in the City

I came home a month ago after a grand adventure in the west, where I spent one month painting on the American Prairie Reserve and one week showing new work at the Telluride Mountainfilm Festival. Time is flying, and I’ve been busy teaching, working on a new commission, and preparing for my next trip to the prairie. Here are some highlights from the past month in New York City.

FIRST PLACE WINNER!

My painting “Fortitude” won first place at the Mills Pond House Gallery juried show. You can see this and another painting of mine “Saco River” at the gallery in Saint James, NY (Long Island) until July 22.

IMG_2946

Fortitiude

Lee_Emilie_SacoRiver_2014

Saco River

EXHIBIT IN NEW YORK CITY

These two paintings are in an upcoming juried show at the National Association of Women Artists. 80 5th Ave, New York, NY. July 8-29. Opening reception is July 16, 5-7 PM

IMG_3470

Portrait Study

Ball_Mason_small

Ball Mason

NEW ONLINE STORE

I came home to my studio and couldn’t find enough room to hang up my latest paintings from the prairie, so it’s time for a spring clearance sale. In the past I’ve sold my work through emails and Facebook connections, so I hope this new store will help make the process more efficient.

IMG_4716

TEACHING IN CENTRAL PARK

We managed to dodge the frequent thunderstorms for my Tuesday plein-air painting classes in Central Park, but for the workshop last weekend the weather caught up with us. Despite the rain we had a productive weekend and everyone made great paintings!

IMG_4817

These two paintings were done by students in my class

IMG_4815

staying dry under the terrace

APPLETON FARMS

Commissions like this are a dream. One of the shareholders at Appleton Farms in Ipswich, MA, asked me to make a painting of this very special place. The farm was founded in 1636 and operated by the Appleton family until 1967 when it was acquired by a local conservation organization. It is the oldest continuously operating farm in America, producing dairy products, beef, and produce. Sustainable farming practices ensure that the landscape also provides a safe habitat for wildlife and birds. I spent two days working on location and have since been finishing the final painting in the studio.

IMG_4655

BACK TO THE PRAIRIE

From August 15 – September 15 I’ll be in Wyoming at the Jentel Artist’s Residency where I’ll be working one of my big studio paintings inspired by my time on the American Prairie Reserve. Jentel is located in the Bighorn Mountains, just five hours south of the Prairie Reserve, and offers writers and artists a quiet place to focus on their work. They don’t even have cell or internet service, I can’t wait! After the residency is finished, I’ll be driving north to the Prairie Reserve for a week of plein air painting in mid September. It will be interesting what this landscape is like in a completely different season.

20x15

RECENT PUBLICATIONS

An essay I wrote for Alpinist Magazine’s fiftieth issue can be read online as well as in print. The Dumpster Diaries, Then and Now  reflects on an adventure I wrote about for the Alpinsit ten years ago. It involves climbing, art, and the Trader Joe’s dumpster. Read the original 2004 article here. An article I wrote about my ongoing project on the American Prairie Reserve was published in the RISD XYZ spring/summer issue, free to read online here.

IMG_4462Screen Shot 2015-07-01 at 8.40.57 PM

 

 

 

One thought on “Summer in the City

  1. Hi dear, Such fun to catch up with your doings Though we are in the paradis de Provence. And Paradis it is: hot in day, cool at nite. Language always a challenge but many great friends from all over the world more or less here for good. Ellen & Richard arrive today which we will en joy. Love and congratulations… First prize!

    From Corson& Connie Ellis 1 Fifth Ave., Apt 14G NYC, NY 10003 212-677-8903

    >

Leave a Reply

